2 Comments

My Week In Beats – 17.05.13

Hola! So I thought this might be a little fun thing to do each Friday to spread the feel good vibes in the way that only music can, inspired by everyone I work with at Radio 1 and 1Xtra that are so passionate about what they do. These are my previously published unashamedly OTT thoughts on what music can do for a soul.

It’s the most wonderful, universal language in the whole of existence. It’s flipping tremendous. It divides people, but ultimately it unites people. Music = Love. It’s just an incredible thing don’tcha think? It DOES THINGS to people. Physically it makes you move (bum wigglers, head nodders, you count just as much as those partial to a running man), emotionally it reaches out to you, chemically I’m sure it must do something because bloody hell it lifts you up. It transports you to a time, a place, a memory, a person and it tells you in no uncertain terms that there is blood in your veins and a heart in your chest.

It’s intense, but I stand by every single word! Full post here if you’re ready for more – including why it’s totally relevant to life with Type 1.

So with that in mind I’ve put together a little list of the songs that have embellished my lovely little week, with a little explanation (or justification! You’ll see…) as to why they’ve made it. Please feel free to add yours in the comments box; I’d love to know what the soundtrack to your week has been and I also LOVE finding new/old music gems, so this makes for a rather indulgent win on my part.

1. This little gem came at me via my bestie Dee King who likes to slap me in the face with a beauty of a new track on an idle Tuesday. This one got me good – as I said on Twitter, I’d like to live in it all summer. It’s needs no more explanation than that; just hurry up and get your ears around it. Wonderful.

2.  This track featured on last week’s video blog, the response to which I am still recovering from. Completely overwhelmed and humbled – quite frankly, you lot absolutely rock. When making it, I put a little plea out into the Twittersphere asking for up and coming bands that wouldn’t mind me using their music in return for a credit, as opposed to hashing through 30 second snippets of commercial gubbins. New Music Trumpet! Dear Ally McCrae (of BBC Introducing fun) came up absolute trumps with this synthy stomper. I haven’t stopped listening to it since. Prides are making a lot of ears prick up on Hype Machine currently and I can’t wait to see what’s next for them.

3. Ok, this one needs a disclaimer. Earlier this week I was ‘fortunate’ enough to go to The Big Reunion tour. I put that word in quote marks to save face but it doesn’t need them – I BLOODY LOVED IT. My 10-year-old pop-obsessed loser self had all but one of the bands in question’s albums (soz, 911. You didn’t make the cut) and my no less 25-year-old loser self remembered EVERY word, including the 5ive raps, and a questionable B*Witched b-side (Jessie Hold On, anyone?) It was perfect, innocent, wonderful 90s nostalgia. Suddenly I was transported back to my childhood bedroom with my walkman and a copy of Smash Hits in hand, learning all the words, with posters of every band imaginable covering my walls, dreaming of being a Spice Girl one day. I forgot how much I loved this Liberty X track when I was a wee pop-loving dancing queen – a curveball from Just A Little, yes, but we don’t want to be predictable now do we? I’ve embedded the TOTP performance rather than the music video just to add to the throwback. This one is going on the karaoke list.

4. This one goes in as a nod to the ridiculous challenge I’m currently in training for, trying to kid myself I’m some kind of sportsperson. In September I’m (hopefully/apparently) cycling from London to Paris and then running a half marathon in the same week to raise money for Diabetes UK. The method to the madness is explained here (and there is a wee link to my sponsorship page at the bottom too. Subtle right?!), and by writing that post, I can no longer pretend it’s not actually happening, particularly as people have now been wonderful and donated their hard earned to the cause. GULP. So I will be calling on the boys below multiple times a week for the foreseeable in the hope that I’ll actually be able to do this thing.

5. Aaannnndddd finally. Right, sampling tracks is risky business. There are some musical greats whose tracks people very rarely dare to touch. Tracks that are so very very highly regarded that the very real possibility of tampering with it and destroying it would also happen to simultaneously destroy a generation’s memories of a gloried youth. Not something you’d hope for.

Enter… Pharrell. A producer with the Midas touch when it comes to beats – the N.E.R.D album In Search Of… is still one of my favourites ever ever. The man is just a genius. A brave genius who has decided to play with Marvin Gaye’s Got To Give It Up for the Robin Thicke track below, with a few Michael Jackson ‘owwws’ thrown in for good measure, while he’s at it. Riiiiiiisky.

But he pulls it off, the bugger. This track reeks of swag, the kind that makes your shoulders move and your lips pout involuntarily as you listen, regardless of whether it’s appropriate (be warned if you’re reading this in the dentist’s waiting room). I’ve decided not to embed the explicit version of the video here (one word: NAKED) but you’ll definitely be able to find it if you’re curious.

You’re so curious aren’t you?!

Nakedness or no nakedness, this is the kind of funky, sensual groove that is perfect for a Friday afternoon, when the anticipation of the unexplored weekend is palpable in the air. It’s completely of the moment, and yet wonderfully nostalgic at the same time. Nice one, Mr Williams.

2 comments on “My Week In Beats – 17.05.13

  1. I’m not sure about this, but I think Robin Thicke has T1D… kinda cool, eh?

  2. I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m satisfied studying your article. However want to commentary on few normal things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is in reality excellent : D. Excellent job, cheers

Leave a Reply

