8 Comments

Blog Facelift!

Hi all,

Sums It Up Quite Nicely...

So, YFT1’s had a little makeover! That theme has been annoying me for some months, and I wanted to make things a bit more personal (without branching into the ‘awkwardly overfamiliar’, a bit like the pervy great Uncle at a wedding). So whaddya think? It’s still very much a work in progress, so I’d love any thoughts, suggestions, comments, super-techy-types that want to offer me a clue about any of this.

Also… I’m thinking about changing YFT1’s name. *Gasp*. I know, I know. I love the YFT1 essence but I’m not sure that ‘Young, Fun and Type1 isn’t a bit cheesy? Although we all know I’m the absolute cheeser of all cheeses, so maybe it is apt and I should just pipe down. I’ve been wracking my brains to think of something smart, sassy and stylish, but then I realised I was none of the above and should maybe go down the embarrassing, silly and ditzy route. Still nothing. It’s just niggling me a little bit that if YFT1 has got any legs (which I’m really hoping it has), one day I won’t be Young, and I’ll probably be decidedly less Fun at some point or another – although I really hope that’s not for a fair few decades yet.

I’d like to also point out that I’m very aware that ultimately none of this matters. There’s a recession, a war, I’ve got world peace to conquer first and such. The blog interest might wither and die, and I’ll just go back to being a diabetic that doesn’t annoy the socialsphere with her ramblings (please don’t leave me! I love you lot. A lot!) But I would like your thoughts on this, oh pretty please my interweb friends. And if you think I indeed should change the name, any witty wordsmiths out there do get in touch with any thoughts on what it could be reincarnated as. I’m like Little Mix, don’tcha know. Only I don’t get referred to as a ‘Little Muffin’ by Tulisa from N-Dubz. It’s on my ‘To Do’ list.

I should probably make reference to the image accompanying this post, as it’s kind of just loitering there like a pink elephant. Except it’s not a pink elephant at all, it’s a mildly offensive greetings card I found in a shop a little while back. I was wracking my brains as to who I could give it to without offending – most of my friends it turns out – but I today considered that if my blog had a strapline, I could quite easily make it this. Because I am indeed, a twat. At least some of the time. (well, twat is maybe a bit harsh, but I’m happy to roll with it). But nonetheless, you seem to like me. And for that, I am one happy, happy blogger. So thank you πŸ™‚

8 comments on “Blog Facelift!

  1. I like the name, I think you should keep it! You’re only as old as you feel as they say, so I think you have a fair few years of being ‘young’! (I also like the rhyme, rolls nicely off the tongue!)

  2. I have to agree with Dani. As someone who has changed their blog name more times than I can count on one hand, it’s best to keep it the same unless what you are going to change it to is going to be a permanent “I’m not ever changing it again” thing.
    And, yes, you are as young as you feel – not the number. Fun – who says you can’t be fun when you get older??

  3. The future is initials. Keep the name but as YFT1. It worked for French United Connection Kingdom. (That’s right isn’t it?)

    Like the new design though and perfect timing as the BDA does the same again. Maybe you should introduce random animal sounds as visitors arrive at your page? You wouldn’t need to worry about copyright either as you can do them yourself πŸ™‚

    Look forward to the next one.

  4. Haha thanks Miss. Not quite a mid-life crisis but there are whiffs of that, maybe slightly premature hey! xxx

  5. Thanks Sarah! The general consensus is that YFT1 should stay, so hooray for the cheese, and being young and fun! And I reckon if I changed it I would then decide I didn’t like the new name and change it back. So this is probably a better plan… πŸ™‚

  6. Hello monsieur! Thanks for commenting, I totally forgot that DUK were doing theirs this week, but like you say, if a rebrand works for them, it works for me too! I’ve been drafting my next v-blog today, so far though I’ve had no success at introducing another animal noise. I know, devastating. All in good time me thinks, I can’t have the readers disappointed now can I. Hope you’re well!

  7. I love the name of your blog…but perhaps you should (uhm, cough, cough) register the domain and get your own hosting? (Speak to me if you want help with this, btw).

    Congrats on the DUK gig – that is pretty much AWESOME!!

  8. Hi Susan!
    Yes that’s something I’ve had a (fleeting) thought about… it’s on the list of things to do! Will most definitely need your help doing that..! Hope all’s well with Timesulin, seen lots of Tweets about it, great stuff!

Leave a Reply

