8 Comments

Entering The World Of The Vlog

Oh god. So I thought I’d give this a go… now I’ve done it I can kind of see why I’ve avoided it before. Sincere apologies, I haven’t covered what I was trying to cover in any of the intended depth. Good. Oh, and rest assured Β I’ve got the memo that I need to turn the phone!

8 comments on “Entering The World Of The Vlog

  1. Great stuff Jen! Sorry to hear about your cousin’s diagnosis thought 😦

  2. Hi jen,

    Watched it last night just before bed, but was resolved to leave a “short” comment.

    Loved the vlog, and the stream of consciousness is a lovely part of your character. The image flashes were very short, so I couldn’t decide whether they were your actual family and I was meant to take note, or if they were just random and an attempt to assimilate my brain into being your diabetic minion πŸ˜‰

    I think your cousin is lucky to have you as a role model (don’t be too tough on yourself about how you handle your diabetes). My cousin and I are the mirror-image of you and your cousin. I was diagnosed last May at the age of 28, she was diagnosed as a kid. She’s still only just a teenager, so haven’t received much advice from her. Anyway, if your cousin would like some info on being diagnosed as an adult, they’re more than welcome to get in touch. (I thought of putting in a shameless plug to my blog, but I’m semi-resisting the temptation!)

    Looking forward to the next v/blog installment,
    The … Diabetic

  3. I know it’s bad isn’t it. But he seems to be coping much better than I woul d at 18! Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for taking the time to comment, much appreciated!
    The flashes were supposed to be quick because they’re all slightly ridiculous. Maybe I should make them a wee bit longer soas not to look like subliminal mind control messages! Definitely not my actual family, ha!
    I’ve put your blog on my blogroll, hope that’s ok πŸ™‚ x

  5. Hey Jen,
    Love you’re blog! I really feel for your cousin. I’m like you diagnosed at 10 years old, and always thought it would be tough to cope with a later diagnosis.
    I already knew by the time I left home how to cope with everything, before throwing alcohol and real life into the equation.
    I (also) don’t think you should be too hard on yourself. It would be good for him to see that ‘life goes on’ and you can lead a “normal” life!
    Good luck to him!

  6. Ah thanks Mish, what a lovely comment! Yes I think he is taking comfort in how much of a ‘normal’ life I lead in that I don’t not do anything because of my T1. Glad you like the blog! x

  7. As someone currently “living the dream” (i.e also discovering alcohol etc) all I can say is I’m glad I’ve been diagnosed for a good few years now so I know how to cope with these situations a bit better! I think if I was diagnosed now I’d find it much harder with all these other factors to contend with that are hard enough with experience πŸ˜€
    I suppose what I’m trying to say is I don’t envy your cousin, but wish him the best of luck and hope he continues to have as much fun as he deserves.

  8. Hi Martyn,
    Thanks so much for your comments. I think I got the easier deal being diagnosed young, when Mum and Pa were there to worry for me! He is doing ok thanks, just learning all the time and trying not to be overwhelmed by it all. Glad your diabetes hasn’t stopped you ‘living the dream’! Quite right too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

