Leave a comment

To low carb or not to low carb?

It’s Monday morning, and it’s the dawn of a new era. Not in an Apocalypse kinda way, mind. I’ve been reading, for a number of weeks, about carbs, carb counting, low carb. I’ve taught myself from a rather fantastic NHS learning centre, a couple of books and a fantastic diabetes forum that has been an absolute god-send of a find. Like many people on there, I was always told as a diabetic to load up on carbs and dose up on insulin appropriately. But, being a girl who’s a more than a little bit interested in how she looks, the reading I’ve done over the years on insulin would suggest that this is a recipe for the fast train to fat.

I’ve decided to try a low-carb approach to my diabetes in an attempt to become a diabetes superwoman of sorts. I know that I’m not perfect and to say I’m never going to eat pizza again would be ridiculous, borderline blasphemous in Jen’s Book of Yumminess. It’s going to be a tricky little path to negotiate, definitely at first. But I want my HbA1c to be amazing, and stay amazing. The beauty of it being an average means I only have to be perfect most of the time. I’m going to say 90% of the time. Not that I don’t want to be perfect 100% of the time but I know me, and I know what I’m like.

So from this morning I will be ditching the bread, pasta, potatoes and stocking up on eggs and serious amounts of greens. Before you roll your eyes and mutter ‘atkins’, this is one hundred million billion per cent NOT about weight loss. I’ve lost over 2 stone in the past two years and am (finally) quite happy as I am thank you very much. This is about good diabetes control, not knocking 20 years off my life expectancy, not going blind. I feel self-educated enough to really go for it. It’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle that ultimately will keep me alive. It’s something I need to do. So let’s go. And now I’m late for work…

Leave a Reply

